Annie Coxey

Annie Coxey works in an abstract formation which I love. As someone who frequently creates somewhat accurate artworks, I feel inspired by her expressive nature. I love how she is not afraid to try something new – this motivates me to follow suit. Between working confidently on canvases and paper, I appreciate with how, if she does not like the way something has gone, she will enforce it into something she likes by ripping the paper and re-positioning it, blocking out marks and working over the top to create new ones. I find that this element of her work inspires me and I hope to use similar techniques. As an artist working locally in my college, I look forward to continuing expressive workshops with her as I know she will push me out of my comfort zone and provide alternative ways to develop artwork.image2

