Life Drawing Reflective

This week’s life drawing surrounded experimentation with charcoal and chalk materials with varying colours of paper. I found my favourite of each to be chalk on black paper as this is unconventional to the materials I usually use. Over the course of these life drawing sessions I feel that I have really improved my proportional skills, although I still have much to improve on, I believe I am slowly gaining skill with proportioning the body before adding further detail later. However, I wish to experiment more with tones in these sketches because I feel this is something my drawings currently lack. I believe I have a tendency to focus on the overall shape, rather than the shadows included in the body itself. This is something I intend to focus on in future lessons. Overall, these lessons are slowly improving my drawing skills in all areas while additionally presenting my with a number of new drawing methods and materials.

