Alice Through the Looking Glass Research

As a creative, I believe Alice in Wonderland has been overdone when considering fictional or imaginative concepts. However, I understand why the films are so widely respected, because at the end of the day they are an immense representation of fantasy in terms of costume, set design, characterisation, and overall theme. For this reason, I may return to these films for inspiration for my concept, but as of now, it was a quote that inspired me;

Mad Hatter: In the gardens of memory, in the palace of dreams, that is where you and I will meet

Alice Kingsleigh: But a dream isn’t reality…

Mad Hatter: Who’s to say which is which?

I think this quote links directly into my concept for the idea of dreams and reality being one whole thing. I wish to explore the liminal threshold between reality and dreams, which is exactly what the Hatter is questioning here. He asks which is which between reality and dreams, which portrays a potential answer to the question of my concept. It’d be interesting to see if I can create a response piece to this that is unique to the other thousands of Alice in Wonderland responses.

Alice in Wonderland Through The Looking Glass Art Original Painting Collectible | eBay. Painting by Dominic Murphy:
Example of another artist’s response

The quote allows me to envisage a lack of threshold between the two, dreams and reality, and puts the two together as one. I wish to translate this into an abstract piece, perhaps textiles, using colours that are so often reflected in the Alice in Wonderland films (bright green, orange, red), and include an overlay of illustration to convey the idea of dreams and reality being one – perhaps even just the two words written, entangled or on top of each other.

