Stop Motion Animation Reflective

08/03/2017

Initially, I was concerned about the outcome of this workshop. I had never worked with stop motion before, because the idea of it scared me. I couldn’t see how I could make it work. I am used to seeing stop motion videos in charcoal, which I think are so clever and really effective but couldn’t visualise myself doing it and making it work as well. However, I found that stop motion can be something simply moving something across a page – an object or a drawing, and these work just as effectively. During making the film, I found that it was hard to keep the lighting the same. In our video, it is evident that the lighting changes dramatically over the course of the film. This was an element of the process that failed, yet I have learned from it because now, if I were to repeat the workshop, I would be conscious of the lighting before setting up the scene. I found that creating a conceptual story worked best because there were limited areas in which it could be wrong. For example, to reflect Ruth’s concept of sleep we crumpled up a sheet on the scene and used hands to pull it tight in some shots, with the idea that insomnia was personified. This worked really effectively and was easier than drawing an entire scene out. If I were to repeat the workshop, I would use conceptual elements to present what I desire to convey due to my finding that this works really effectively. Overall, I have learnt how easy stop motion actually is – it is simply a case of creating a scene and slowly moving things around, taking two snap shots for each movement. Doing this doesn’t take as long as I first thought, and it in fact looks really effective in the end. I think I will try stop motion again, however, I will properly plan out a story board beforehand.

