Road Safety Reflective

Having been to road safety talks before, I knew what to expect. However, compared to the previous talks, I found this one more effective because I am now a driver, so can relate to more of the situations. The speaker also used a shock factor and included personal elements in his speech. For example, he discussed local stories that occurred on roads I drive on regularly, and used terms like ‘imagine if you were the one to kill somebody’ and ‘it’s your choice’. Using this personal technique was effective in engaging me as an audience member and inspires me to incorporate personal elements into my own exhibition for FMP. Attending this talk has helped me understand the power of the shock factor and incorporating personal elements into works, this will help me for my final outcome of this project.

