Newcastle Plan Reflective

27/03/2017

Feelings and analysis:

  • Following the Lancaster visit, I knew that I needed to plan my time better to fully benefit from the visit. If I had done this for Lancaster, I wouldn’t have missed the areas that I did, and therefore would have gained more from the visit. To problem solve this, I made a more detailed plan for Newcastle.

What went well/badly:

  • I found that there was limited connections to my concept stated on the Great Northern Museum website, however, I am sure there will be objects, display methods, or development ideas that I will be presented with when I am there.
  • Although there were limited aspects listed on the Great Northern Museum website linking to my concept, I was able to make a connection between the planetarium and my concept. Being given the time to forward plan, I could connect the two by considering the times that dreams occur – at nighttime, when stargazers are usually more active, being that the night sky is visible. If this was not the case, I would have potentially dismissed the planetarium and missed valuable research.
  • There are many artists in The Biscuit Gallery that I am excited to view for the technical, visual and conceptual inspiration. Planning the artists I will seek to look at has developed an excitement for visiting the gallery.

What have I learnt, how will it help me in the future:

  • Planning for this visit will benefit me in knowing what to look out for when the visit commences. I now know specific areas of the galleries and museums I can jump to, while also benefiting from the other exhibitions in the visit.
