Eiko Ojala Reflective

10/04/2017

Feelings and analysis:

  • I came across Eiko Ojala’s work when looking for a visual for a research piece. I thought it was really interesting how they used papercuts to intertwine and entangle the image.
  • The pieces are really clever and interesting. Most of the pieces depict two people, or two contrasting people. I interpret this to imitate the conscious and subconscious minds. The sides are often close together, and it appears almost as if they are helping one another. In reference to my concluded concept, I interpret this to mean the subconscious mind, the dreams, are helping the conscious mind, the real/daily life.

What I have learnt and how it will help me in the future:

  • Overall, I really appreciate this artist’s work and intend on experimenting with a similar technique in the future. I believe I could create a really compelling piece with this technique that communicates my concept successfully.
  • It has been beneficial to find an artist that works around a similar concept to my own. I am unsure for certain whether the artist intends to work with a similar concept as I have not researched this. I have found it hard to find artists who work with my concept, so instead I have been finding artworks that I can interpret to relate. This has been far more successful, and finding this artist is an example of this.
