Amsterdam Reflective

13/03/2017

Feelings and analysis:

  • I knew that my trip to Amsterdam would be beneficial for my project, and I was correct. Amsterdam provided some knew and innovative ideas for my project development. Often, I found that I was able to create links between artworks or pieces, or even just things I saw, and my concept.

What went well/badly:

  • I found the Botanical Gardens the most influential. I was fascinated by the ways each room changed literal climate to support the wildlife within them. Moving from normal temperature, into extreme humidity was initially shocking as I had not expected it, then I came to realise how powerful it was. The temperature change made me, the audience, feel closer the the wildlife. If the room had been an instillation artwork, it would have been me feel ultimately submersed in the subject. Due to the temperature, it was difficult to consider anything else other than what was being shown, which worked really successfully.
  • This inspires my own work, perhaps for my final outcome. I imagine an instillation piece with relating sounds and scents to my concept, to fully submerse the audience in what is being conveyed.

What I have learned and how it will help me in the future:

  • From the Amsterdam visit, I have learned that inspiration can be found anywhere. Conceptual thinking is key for this.
  • Being able to think conceptually about my project ensured that I was gathering inspiration from the places I visited, which will overall benefit my project. Moving forward, I am satisfied with the ideas I have gained from Amsterdam and intend on using such inspiration when designing my final piece ideas.
