Damien Hirst Reflective

18/04/2017

Feelings and analysis:

  • I find Damien Hirst’s instillation ‘Pharmacy’ really inspiring. When I visited Amsterdam, I saw some of Hirst’s prints in a small exhibition. These prints didn’t really appeal to me, but this instillation is so different and compelling.

What went well/badly:

  • I appreciate that this instillation is on such a large scale – it fills and entire room. This has the effect of fully submersing the audience in the piece. For the time they are in the instillation, there is nothing else to consider other than what is being communicated. I think this is really effective.
  • I find myself inspired by Hirst’s instillation to further consider my idea of prescribing dreams in the way that medicine is prescribed. I could develop this idea into a few instillation ideas for a final outcome. I would wish for this piece to take on the scale of Hirst’s pharmacy, however I know this is not possible. Instead, I will realistically consider a way I can blend the two ideas together, with the inclusion of other techniques and methods I have experimented with over the course of the project.

What I have learned and how it will help me in the future:

  • Hirst’s work has given me direct ideas for my own work. Seeing an artist who has achieved something similar to what I wish to achieve is motivating and inspiring. Moving forward, I intend to develop a couple of potential final piece designs that are inspired by this piece.
