Final Outcome in a Day Reflective

02/05/2017

Feelings and analysis:

  • Initially, I was concerned about having to create one of my final outcome ideas in a day because each was somewhat complicated and time consuming. However, once I had planned out what I was going to do and how I was going to do it, I was able to simplify the design to something that could be created in one day. This was my method of problem solving.

What went well/badly:

  • Planning out my piece and what I wanted to achieve enabled me to time manage the day successfully.
  • Some elements of the design were missing and I had to improvise – the stones in the middle box were supposed the be a jar of dream influencing gemstones. I didn’t have access to these gemstones so I had to problem solve and use something that was available to me. Although the stones weren’t effective as they confused the judges, I believe finding an alternative was more effective than cutting the section out entirely.
  • In the first box, I had initially desired to use a magnetic board with magnetic pieces, however this was not available to me so I again had to problem solve and use something accessible to me. The obvious answer was paper, which I think was a simple and effective alternative.
  • The boxes I used were actually far too large for the pieces I made, however, again, I had to use what was accessible to me, and given the time frame, I couldn’t make my own boxes and instead had to use some that were already in the college.
  • Gaining feedback from people who didn’t know my concept was helpful in understanding how my piece actually communicated my concept. This was the kind of insight I would be unable to get from my peers and tutors who know and understand my concept already.

What I have learned and how it will help me in the future:

  • I believe this was an essential task for problem solving – I had to improvise and use items I could find as I lacked enough time to make everything, which encouraged me to think outside of the box and simplify otherwise complicated elements. This will benefit me when it comes to creating my real final outcome.
  • I was given some very useful pointers on what my piece communicated which increased my understanding of what and how to translate my concept through my piece. I believe I need to be more direct and less conceptual to be successful in this instance.

18261494_10206875296400490_504969577_o

