Final Designs Development Tutorial Reflective

04/05/2017

Feelings and analysis:

  • I felt concerned about my final outcome idea because I was aware it was whimsical and childlike, while sticking to a fictional, unrealistic theme. This was stated in my tutorial which enabled me to see that this came across to the audience as much as it did to me, which obviously wouldn’t prove successful during examination or in the exhibition.

What went well/badly:

  • I re-designed multiple outcome ideas, and during another tutorial realised I just need to fly with one of the ideas – to try making it, see what comes out of it, whether it’s successful or not, recording any ideas I have along the way.
  • This was my method of problem solving the situation – simply making one of the pieces to distract my mind and allow me to think around the subject more freely.
  • I found coming up with some alternative designs useful because I was able to think around the therapy room idea and focus on something more straight forward which would overall be more successful.

What I have learned and how it will help me in the future:

  • Overall, I have learned that sometimes the simplest ideas are the best, and that often I can get stuck with one idea and fail to realise how over complicated it is until it is stated to me. This is where tutorials are essential for helping me push my ideas forward and develop.
  • I’ve also learned that’s it’s often necessary to just make something and see where it goes. From this, I intend to experiment with the dream catcher idea and see what comes from it.
