Rothko Research and Development

  • ‘The darkness of the works can be seen as melancholic and expressive of Rothko’s mood of his last years’

Rothko Chapel, 1971, Houston, Texas | Philip Johnson, Mark Rothko - One of my favourite places on the planet, even though I've never been there. Rothko is a genius.:

 

  • ‘The extreme contrast of light and dark evokes a sadness that played out like a psychological drama, both mythic and tragic’
  • Emotive use of colour and scale
  • I could use this technique to translate the feeling after having a busy dream, after being helped in some way by the dream, to see the situation clearer

Mark Rothko ‘Untitled’, 1969 © Kate Rothko Prizel and Christopher Rothko/DACS 1998:

My attempt and putting my post dream feeling into this technique:

20170509_111558.jpg

