Tutorial Reflective

15/05/2017

Feelings and analysis:

  • The problem I was facing with my final piece was that it failed to communicate what I wanted to and I wasn’t passionate about the piece as a whole.
  • Discussing this in a tutorial enabled me to re-consider my piece and come up with new ideas to experiment with.

What went well/badly:

  • A problem faced during this tutorial was my struggle to come up with a new idea. It was said one of the most interesting things in my presentation was the stop motion I created. I initially I felt uncomfortable with this because I was unhappy with the stop motion, however I liked what it showed.
  • To problem solve, I asked some other students to re-look at my presentation to see if they had any suggestions. This was really helpful as they each had differing, interesting ideas I could work with. The idea I liked the most was working with the stop motion technique but creating a selection of them, depicting the three main dreams I have been looking at. These could be displayed on iPads hung on the wall like photo-frames above a bedside table perhaps.

What I have learned and how it will help me in the future:

  • This tutorial enabled me to take a step back from my final piece and realise that it wasn’t working. Moving forward, I will experiment with some of the ideas I have come up with and find which is the most successful for the exhibition.
  • Overall, this will really benefit my final exhibition piece as it will be far more successful than the previous piece.
