Final Stop Motion Experiments Reflective

23/05/2017

Feelings and analysis:

  • Having experimented with my stop motions greatly over this week, I feel confident moving on to my final three stop motions.

What went well/badly:

  • From experimenting, I now know what works and what doesn’t.
  • Firstly, I have found that having the stop motions at 10 frames per second is a good speed – not too fast nor too slow. If, when I put the iPads in the exhibition, this speed is too fast or slow, I can simply increase or decrease the speed.
  • Secondly, I need to ensure I don’t move too quickly in the stop motions during the areas that I need to audience to focus on to understand the concept.
  • Also, I know which areas of the three stop motions don’t work do well. For example, the taking a selfie part in the teeth falling out dream. To problem solve this, I will experiment more with using mirrors and an actual phone to translate the idea of feeling self conscious.
  • Finally, I have found a composition that works effectively – the pillows fitting perfectly into the top of the frame and my feet being slightly cut off at the bottom to ensure the eye of the viewer is drawn to the moving figure rather than being focused on moving feet or blank space at the bottom of the stop motion.

What I have learned and how it will help me in the future:

  • Experimenting so much with stop motions will overall improve the quality of them in my final exhibition. This will ensure they communicate a clear idea to the audience and resemble a high quality.
