Dream Journal Reflective

24/05/2017

Feelings and analysis:

  • I wanted to create a psychical dream journal to reflect my personal responses to my own dreams.

What went well/badly:

  • I found it difficult to record my dreams as soon as I had woken up from them because as I was painting, I began to forget parts of the dream.
  • Later in the journal, to problem solve this, I wrote down my dream before painting it. However, I think this took away part of the organic-ness of the journal. I think the paintings where I had forgotten the dream had actually worked the most successfully as these feel the most real and communicate the concept of dreams more effectively.

What I have learned and how it will help me in the future:

  • I think the book works effectively, however I am unsure whether to put it in the exhibition or not. If I do so, I will need to encase the book to appear less like a sketchbook and more like a proper book. This is something I will problem solve at a later date.
