Final Piece Reflective

25/05/2017

Feelings and analysis:

  • My final piece has gone through many changes the designing stage and the making stage.

What went well/badly:

  • I believe these changes were essential to push myself forward and continue developing.
  • I was able to note what was and wasn’t working with some help from my peers and tutors. This enabled me to see how the piece appeared to the audience.
  • At one point, when I was deciding about the felt, I was really torn between keeping it in to make the piece look aesthetically pleasing, or removing it and have the piece reflect my concept more. I decided to remove the felt and have my piece display my concept more successful, as ultimately this is more important and this is how I want to audience to see it.
  • Having to let go of something practical that I had spent time creating was hard, and it left my final piece not looking how I had imagined. But, I know this will be more effective for the audience and I think it extend my journey through FMP.

What I have learned and how it will help me in the future:

  • I have learned that sometimes, a piece won’t look the same as it does in my head, and this is okay.
  • I have also learned the importance of letting go of something I have spent time making, and accepting that sometimes it simply doesn’t work.
